Welcome to The Rioteers Cricket Club.

The club is an institution more than fifty years old. With long standing fixtures against many of Hampshire’s best village teams, on some of the most beautiful grounds, by some of Hampshire’s most hospitable pubs – we are a sporting force to be reckoned with.

If we were a cricketer we’d be Wally Hammond, outstanding with the bat and ball, and even more outstanding in it. For those of you watching in full, glorious technicolour, think Botham.

The tour to Alderney, now in its eight year, the annual Boxing Day football match against Owslebury, the Dinner Dance, the AGM, and Brazier’s annual round, mean there are plenty of opportunities away from the cricket.

We have players from 12 to 75 so if you fancy a game please get in touch.

The Club Officers and current players thank the Patrons for their ongoing financial support every year which is used to sponsor and encourage younger players and ensure the continuation of the Club into the future.

Fixtures and results

All matches are on a Sunday unless otherwise stated. Click on a match manager’s name to contact him by email, and a map link to view directions to the ground.

2018 Opponents Start Match Manager Rioteers’ score Opponents’ score Result
29th April St Mary Bourne CC (map) 2pm
6th May Hambledon CC (map) 1.30pm
13th May Ropley CC (map) 2pm
20th May Wickham CC 2pm
27th May Coombe Blisset 1.30pm
3rd June TBC
10th June Cadnam  2pm
17th June Bryanston Butterflies  11.30
24th June Bramshaw CC (map) 2pm
1st July Broadhalfpenny Brigands (map) 2pm
8th July Longparish CC (map) 2.30pm
15th July Crawley Crows (map) 2pm
22nd July Newport (map) 2.30pm
29th July Hambledon CC (map)  1.30pm
5th August TBC
12th August Medstead (map) 2pm
19th August East Meon CC (map) 2pm
26th August  TBC
2nd Sept Alderney tour
9th Sept Chute CC (map) 2pm
16th Sept Wield CC (map) 1.30pm
23rd Sept Newport (map) 1.30pm

Match reports

Patrons & officers

Honorary life members

Mrs Betty Harfield, Mrs Rose Prince, Mr Chris Healey, Mrs Jane Healey.

Club patrons

R.D. Brazier, S. Brazier, R. Clifton, B. Gill, J. Gill, H. Goodall, J.G. Grayson, P. Guyer, J. Hall, A. Harris, M. Hawthorne, A. Higlett, J. Hillier, M. Hillier, R. Howick, R. Hunt, N. Johnson, B. Lay, T. Masters, J. McLachlan, S. Mufti, N. Osman, W. Phillips, R. Powdrill, M. Prince, P. Radcliffe, M. Reed, D. Rees, R. Robson, H. Thompson, R. Treherne, A. Trickett, C. Tuck, T. Walder, B. Wheeler, P. White, P. Wyndham, G. Yates.

Club officers

Chairman: Gavin Yates

Captain: Martin Hillier

Vice Captain: Dave Bickford

General Secretary: Richard Brazier

Hon. Treasurer: Campbell Williams

Hon. Fixture Secretary: James Hillier